Silver Jubilee of BSMED

The Silver Jubilee celebrations of  the Management school of Bharathiar University, Coimbatore were held recently. I had been associated from the very first batch of students till I retired in 2004. Several of the alumni have been in touch with me personally either through the school’s group mail, through personal mail or through  networking sites. There was also an ad supplement in “The Hindu” prior to the celebrations. A group of alumni had worked hard to organise the event, and they would have used the linked-in, facebook, twitter etc. to reach other alumni, I assume.  Those who had manged to come had a good time, I suppose,  definitely those who turned up for the informal get together in the evening would confirm that.

I did expect a large attendance given that nearly 1000 students have gone through the system. I must admit that I was rather disappointed. Even many alumni, who I know are from Coimbatore did not show up. I would have at least expected some kind of a greetings message from many who cared. May be there were a few, but not to be excited about. I am surprised that with all the “social networking” hype many did not bother to network. Why was that? Did people feel that there is nothing much in it for them? Does the rat race of the work place not allow them time to even send an email greeting? Or may be they did send and the information was not shared during the event? The ever questioning and never satisfied, Ramki again?

One thought on “Silver Jubilee of BSMED

Leave a comment